Mac screenshot apps without a subscription
By Ziad Ziadeh, Snapline’s developer · Published 24 October 2026
The short version
- Buy once: CleanShot X’s app (CleanShot Basic), Snapline (made by this page’s author), Xnapper, and Cap’s desktop license. Never pay: the built-in ⇧⌘5, Shottr, Capso and Lightshot. Subscription only: Snagit, Screen Studio, Monosnap’s paid plans, Cap Pro and CleanShot Pro.
- Snapline records the screen, takes scrolling screenshots and keeps every capture in a local library you can search by its text, as one purchase with no account and no cloud plan. CleanShot X’s app is the most complete one-time buy, but its share links live in a subscription.
- “One-time” rarely means every future version: CleanShot X, Xnapper and Snapline each include a year of updates and keep working after it. If you only take screenshots, try Shottr first: it is free for as long as you want.
How were these apps checked?
This page is by Snapline’s developer, and Snapline is one of the apps you can buy once, so read what it says about Snapline with that in mind. For people who only take screenshots, a free app below is the better answer, and the page says which.
How these were checked, dated. Every license model on this page was read on its maker’s own site on 24 October 2026: CleanShot X’s home and pricing pages and its Setapp page, Xnapper’s home and pricing pages, Cap’s pricing page, Shottr’s site, Capso’s GitHub README, TechSmith’s Snagit store page, Screen Studio’s site and Monosnap’s plans page. Lightshot’s terms, and Apple’s documentation of the built-in tool, keep the date this site last read them, 21 September 2026. Feature claims carried over from this site’s other comparisons keep their read-dates too, 15 October or 21 September 2026. Snapline’s are verifiable in its free 14-day trial. “Not listed on its site” means the maker’s pages, read on those dates, do not mention it, which is not the same as “can’t”. There are no prices here: they change and are localized, and each maker’s site is the only reliable source. Corrections go to support@snap-line.app.
What does a one-time purchase actually cover?
Less than “forever”, and more than nothing. Four things differ from one app to the next, and they matter more than the price:
- Updates. CleanShot Basic and Xnapper each include one year of updates, with renewal optional. Snapline includes every version published within a year of purchase. Cap’s pricing page and Shottr’s site do not say how long updates last.
- What happens after that year. CleanShot X says “Pay once, use forever”, and Xnapper “Pay once. Use forever.” A Snapline license is perpetual, and a lapsed update window breaks nothing: the app keeps running at the last version the window covered.
- How many Macs. Xnapper sells its licenses by the number of Macs, from one. Cap’s desktop license covers one user. A Snapline license covers its number of Macs at once, and deactivating one in Settings frees it for another.
- Accounts. Snagit unlocks through the TechSmith account you sign in with at checkout. Snapline has no account: it activates online once and runs offline after that, refreshing its status when the Mac is online.
One trap: CleanShot X is also in Setapp, and Setapp is a subscription to a bundle of apps. Buying CleanShot X through Setapp is a subscription; buying CleanShot Basic from CleanShot’s own site is the one-time route.
Which Mac screenshot apps can you buy once?
CleanShot X’s app, Snapline, Xnapper and Cap’s desktop license. CleanShot X and Snapline are the two that cover screenshots and recording in one app; Xnapper makes one screenshot look finished; Cap is a recorder.
CleanShot X: the most complete one-time app, with a cloud plan beside it
CleanShot X’s app, sold as CleanShot Basic, says on its pricing page, read 24 October 2026, “Pay once, use forever”, with “One year of updates” and optional renewal. Per its site the same day, it records video or GIF with a webcam bubble and the keys you press shown on screen, captures content that scrolls vertically or horizontally, and uploads any screenshot or recording for a link. It needs macOS 13.0 or newer.
The catch for this page: CleanShot Pro, the cloud plan for storage and team features, is a subscription billed monthly or annually per user. If share links are the part of CleanShot X you use, the subscription is part of the deal. See CleanShot X’s pricing, and the Snapline vs CleanShot X comparison for the two side by side.
Snapline: the whole app in one purchase, no cloud plan
Snapline is a one-time purchase that records the screen, takes scrolling screenshots and keeps every capture in a local library you can search by its text, with no account and no cloud plan to subscribe to. I make it, so weigh this entry with that in mind.
The license is perpetual and includes every version published within a year of purchase. After that the app keeps running; a renewal is a further one-time purchase that extends the update window, and it is optional. The full app is free to try for 14 days with no card and no account, and if you don’t buy, only capture (and new Snapline Studio takes) stops: History, the editor, text recognition of existing captures and translation stay open. Refunds are possible for 30 days.
What the one purchase covers: screenshots, scrolling capture where you scroll and it stitches, screen recording to MP4 with a camera bubble and click and keystroke overlays, Convert to GIF, re-editable annotations, Smart Redact, and every capture recognized on device so History finds it by the words in it. On a Mac with Apple silicon it includes Snapline Studio for editing a take after you record it. The catches: it needs macOS 14 or later, it has no share links by design, and its scrolling capture is vertical only. See the one-time license.
Xnapper: one screenshot, made presentable, bought once
Xnapper is free to use, and its site says to “pay one-time to remove watermark”. Its pricing page, read 24 October 2026, says “Pay once. Use forever.”, includes one year of free updates with optional renewal, and sells licenses by the number of Macs. It is built to make one screenshot look good enough to post, with backgrounds, padding and automatic redaction; scrolling capture and screen recording are not listed on its site (15 October 2026). See xnapper.com.
Cap’s desktop license: a recorder for work, bought once
Cap is free for personal use. Per its pricing page, read 24 October 2026, commercial use needs a paid plan, and the Desktop License comes yearly or as “a license that never renews”: one user, works offline, unlimited local recording and editing, and a limited number of short share links each month. Cap Pro, which adds unlimited cloud sharing, AI-written summaries and team workspaces, is a subscription. Cap is a recorder first; its site lists no scrolling capture (21 September 2026). See cap.so.
Which ones never ask you to pay at all?
The built-in ⇧⌘5 tool, Shottr, Capso and Lightshot. For screenshots only, start with Shottr. For recording too, Capso, if your Mac runs macOS 15 or later.
The built-in tool, opened with ⇧⌘5, takes regions, windows and the full screen and records the screen, free and already installed. Per Apple’s documentation, it has no scrolling capture, no history beyond the Finder and no GIF. For a shot now and then, it is enough.
Shottr says on its site, read 24 October 2026, that it “can be used for free for as long as you want”, with a prompt now and then to buy it, and invites you to name your price. A license enables its upload feature and hiding the menu bar icon, and activation needs an internet connection. Its site does not say whether the license is bought once or how long its updates last. It has scrolling capture and OCR, runs on macOS Catalina (10.15) and later, and lists no screen recording.
Capso is free, with its source on GitHub under the Business Source License 1.1, which its README, read 24 October 2026, says converts to Apache 2.0 three years after each release. It records MP4 or GIF with a webcam picture-in-picture, has scrolling capture and OCR, and needs macOS 15.0 or later. Its library filters captures; the README does not mention searching their text.
Lightshot is free and quick for a region shot with a short link on prntscr.com, but its Mac App Store version was last updated in July 2019 (read 21 September 2026).
Each free app has a catch, from personal-use terms to uploads; the free screenshot apps page sets them out one by one.
Which screenshot apps are subscription only?
Snagit, Screen Studio and Monosnap’s paid plans, plus the cloud tiers of two apps above: CleanShot Pro and Cap Pro.
- Snagit: TechSmith’s store page, read 24 October 2026, sells the individual plan “per user per year billed yearly”, unlocked by the TechSmith account you sign in with at checkout. It is the most complete tool for documentation across Windows and Mac; see the Snagit alternatives.
- Screen Studio: sold monthly or yearly. Its site, read 24 October 2026, says its one-time license “is no longer available for new purchases”, though existing ones stay valid. It takes no screenshots; see the Screen Studio alternatives.
- Monosnap: a free plan for personal and family use, with recordings capped at five minutes, and paid Non-Commercial and Commercial plans priced per month (its plans page, 24 October 2026).
How do they compare side by side?
Read-dates as above. “Not listed on its site” means the maker’s pages do not mention it.
| App | How you pay | Updates a purchase includes | Screen recording | Scrolling capture | Search old shots by text |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CleanShot X | App bought once (CleanShot Basic); cloud plan a subscription; also in Setapp | One year; renewal optional | Yes, video or GIF, webcam, keystrokes | Yes, vertical and horizontal | Only in CleanShot Cloud, for uploaded captures |
| Snapline | Bought once, perpetual; free 14-day full trial | Every version published within a year; renewal optional | Yes, MP4 with camera bubble, click and keystroke overlays; Snapline Studio on Apple silicon | Yes, you scroll, it stitches; vertical only | Yes, the whole history, on device |
| Xnapper | Free with a watermark; bought once to remove it | One year; renewal optional | Not listed on its site | Not listed on its site | History kept; search not listed |
| Cap | Free for personal use; desktop license yearly or once; Cap Pro a subscription | Not stated on its pricing page | Yes, locally up to 4K, or instant share links | Not listed on its site | Not listed for screenshots |
| ⇧⌘5 (built-in) | Free, part of macOS | Comes with macOS | Yes, basic | No | No library; Spotlight can search text in images |
| Shottr | Free; name your price for a license | Not stated on its site | Not listed on its site | Yes, scrolls for you, or you scroll in manual mode | OCR per selection; no library |
| Capso | Free; source on GitHub | Free | Yes, MP4 or GIF, webcam picture-in-picture | Yes, you scroll, it stitches | Library filters, not text search |
| Lightshot | Free | Mac App Store version from July 2019 | Not listed on its site | Not listed on its site | Not listed on its site |
| Snagit | Yearly subscription, through a TechSmith account | Not a one-time purchase | Yes, with webcam and system audio | Yes, including wide content | Grab Text per image; library searches file names |
| Screen Studio | Monthly or yearly subscription | Not a one-time purchase for new buyers | Yes, with automatic zoom | No; it takes no screenshots | No screenshots to search |
| Monosnap | Free personal plan; paid plans priced per month | Not a one-time purchase | Yes; five minutes per recording on the free plan | Not listed on its site | Not listed on its site |
Which one should you pick?
- Shottr if you only take screenshots: it is free, and nothing here beats it on price.
- Capso if you want screenshots and recording free, on macOS 15 or later, from a young project.
- CleanShot X’s app if you want the most complete tool bought once, and can live without its cloud or pay for that separately.
- Snapline if you want screenshots, recording and a history you can search by text in one purchase, with no account and nothing on a server.
- Xnapper if the screenshot is headed for a slide or a post.
- Cap’s desktop license if you record videos for work and want to pay once.
- The built-in tool if none of the above describes you.
Questions
Is there a CleanShot X alternative without a subscription?
Yes, several. Snapline is a one-time purchase for the whole app, with recording, scrolling capture and a local library you can search by text, and no account. Xnapper is free with a watermark and a one-time purchase removes it. Shottr and Capso are free. CleanShot X’s own app is also a one-time purchase; only its cloud plan, CleanShot Pro, is a subscription.
Which Mac screenshot apps are a one-time purchase?
CleanShot X’s app (CleanShot Basic), Snapline, Xnapper’s watermark-free license, and Cap’s desktop license, which can be bought once as well as yearly. CleanShot X, Xnapper and Snapline each include a year of updates and keep working after it. Shottr invites you to name your price for a license; its site does not describe the license’s terms.
Is CleanShot X a subscription?
The app is not: CleanShot Basic is a one-time purchase with one year of updates, and renewing after that is optional. CleanShot Pro, the cloud plan for storage and team features, is a subscription billed monthly or annually per user. CleanShot X is also in Setapp, which is itself a subscription to a bundle of apps.
Does a one-time purchase include future updates?
Usually for a year, not forever. CleanShot Basic and Xnapper include one year of updates with optional renewal, and Snapline includes every version published within a year of purchase. In all three the app keeps working after that year; you just stop getting new versions until you renew.
What is the best free alternative to CleanShot X?
Capso is the closest free match feature for feature, with a CleanShot-style capture bar, recording, scrolling capture and OCR, but it needs macOS 15 or later and is new. Shottr is free for screenshots, with scrolling capture and OCR. The built-in ⇧⌘5 tool is free and already on your Mac.
Is Snapline a subscription?
No. Snapline is a one-time purchase with a perpetual license, which includes every version published within a year of purchase; a renewal is a further one-time purchase and is optional. It is free to try in full for 14 days with no card and no account, and it has no cloud plan to subscribe to.
Snapline is free to try in full for 14 days, with no card and no account; after the trial, capture and new Snapline Studio takes unlock with a one-time license, and everything you already made stays open. Screen Recording is the one permission capture needs; Microphone, Camera and Input Monitoring are asked for only when you turn on the feature that needs them. It requires macOS 14 or later. Download Snapline.